Cyclocross 2011 - Season wrap-up

Now that cyclocross season has drawn to a close we'd like to acknowledge all of the AAVC members who got out to race in the mud this year!
  • Rich Stark finished the season in 1st place overall in the single speed category of the Tailwind CX series, placing first or second in each race he entered (despite often also doing the Master's or Elite Men's race on the same day... a good warm-up, right Rich?).
  • In the same race series, Tom Barrett finished 4th place overall in the Men's B category, consistently placing in the top 10 of each race.
  • Many other riders also represented the club this cyclocross season, including Alex Mettler, Lucas Wall, Javier Samayoa, Will Cawthorn, Markus Nee, David Palan, Bob Shank, Jim O'Connell and Rob Pulcipher (special mention should go to Rob for setting up the CXpreX preseason training series, too).
Thanks too to everyone who made it out to the club cookout at the second Veterans Park CX race (pictured here). Good times were had watching the races while enjoying some brats and beer (or handing them out to the racers). Alexey also came along to show off his new National Championship jersey. More photos can be seen here and here.

We hope everyone else enjoyed racing in 2011 and that you're all looking forward to another great year for AAVC in 2012!